background image

Bristol Photographic Society

Programme September 2017 – August 2018

 

Visitors are welcome, but a small charge of £3.00 per visit will be made (maximum of 3 visits).

This will be refundable on joining the Society (Full Annual Membership)

2017
SEPTEMBER
Tue 5 Sep Start of Photography Course – Composition
Wed 6 Sep Ian Wade - Urban Wildlife of  Malaysia and Underwater Photography
Closing date - Projected Image Competition Round 1
Mon 11 Sep Digital Group
Tue 12 Sep Photography Course – Know Your Camera
Wed 13 Sep Chairman’s Evening
Sat 16 Sep Photography Course - Field Trip, Clifton Village 
Tue 19 Sep Photography Course – Action & Sports Photography 
Wed 20 Sep John Crabb - The Art and Adventure of Wildlife Photography
Closing date - Print Competition Round 1
Tue 26 Sep Photography Course – Introduction to Available Light and other Special Situations
Wed 27 Sep Projected Image Competition Round 1
Judges: Sue O'Connell ARPS EFIAP/g DPAGB BPE3* and Peter Brisley ARPS
Thu 28 Sep Council Meeting
OCTOBER
Sun 1 Oct Photography Course - Night Photography in Clifton
Tue 3 Oct Photography Course - Holiday and Travel
Wed 4 Oct Cathy Roberts FRPS EFIAP/s DPAGB BPE2* - Ways of Seeing
Sat 7 Oct Photography Course – Field Trip to Bristol Docks
Mon 9 Oct Digital Group
Tue 10 Oct Photography Course – Studio Photography and other Portraiture
Wed 11 Oct Rohan Reilly -The Delicate Art of Monochrome
Mon 16 Oct Print Group

Sun, Mon, Tue 15, 16, 17Oct

Photography Course – Studio Photography and Other Portraiture
Wed 18 Oct Print Competition Round 1 - Judge: Graham Reeves FRPS EFIAP

Tue 24 Oct

Photography Course –Image Editing 1
Wed 25 Oct David Clapp - FSWPP ARPS - Professional Landscape Photography
Keith Hewitt Memorial Lecture
Sat 28 Oct Photography Course – Field Trip to Blaise Castle – Landscape Photography
Tue 31 Oct Photography Course - Natural History Photography
NOVEMBER
Wed 1 Nov Peter Weaver LRPS APAGB CPAGB - My Digital View
Tue 7 Nov Photography Course – Image Editing 2
Wed 8 Nov Mary Pears CPAGB and Shaun Boycott-Taylor ARPS DPAGB AFIAP
A Walk on the Wildside
Closing date - Projected Image Competition Round 2
Mon13 Nov Digital Group
Tue 14 Nov Photography Course – End of Course Picture Review
Wed 15 Nov Stephen Spraggon - Four Seasons in One Day
Wed 22 Nov Bob Bishop LRPS EFIAP BPE3* - Have Camera Will Travel
Closing date – Print Competition Round 2
Thu  23 Nov Council Meeting
Wed 29 Nov Projected Image Competition Round 2 - Judge: Rob Ryan FRSA ARPS
DECEMBER
Wed 6 Dec Sheila Haycox ARPS MPAGB/AV EFIAP - An Evening with Sheila
Mon 11 Dec Digital Group
Wed 13 Dec Print Competition Round - Judge: Eddy Lane ARPS DPAGB EFIAP
Wed 20 Dec Christmas Social
Wed 27 Dec NO MEETING
2018
JANUARY
Wed 3 Jan Terry Donnelley FRPS FSWPP FBPE MPAGB EFIAP - My Mirrorless Camera Journey with Sony
Mon 8 Jan Digital Group
Wed 10 Jan Adrian Herring ARPS DPAGB and Vanessa Herring LRPS - Uganda, What an Extraordinary Experience
Closing date - Projected Image Competition Round 3
Mon 15 Jan Print Group
Wed 17 Jan Vanda Ralevska - Experience of Creating Images
Wed 24Jan Vicki-Lea Boulter ARPS - Portraiture as Art
Thu 25 Jan Council Meeting
Wed 31 Jan Sue Bishop - Flower and Landscape Photography
FEBRUARY
Wed 7 Feb Projected Image Competition Round 3 - Judge: Peter Weaver LRPS CPAGB APAGB
Closing date – Print Competition Round 3
Mon 12 Feb Digital Group
Wed 14 Feb Steve Smith FRPS MPAGB - Street Witness
Wed 21 Feb John Chamberlin FRPS MFIAP - From Dawn Till Dusk
Closing date - Projected Image Competition Round 4
Wed 28 Feb Print Competition Round 3 - Judge: Sheila Hayes ARPS DPAGB EFIAP MPAGB-AV
MARCH
Wed 7 Mar Martin Fry FRPS APAGB EFIAP/b EFIAP/AV BPE5* - The Cotswold Lad Returns
Mon 12 Mar Digital Group
Wed 14 Mar Adrian Langdon ARPS DPAGB - An Evening with Adrian Langdon
Wed 21 Mar Projected Image Competition Round 4 - Judge: Sandie Cox ARPS DPAGB
An evening which reveals the overall winner
Thu 22 Mar Council Meeting
Wed 28 Mar Bristol Salon 2018 Presentation
Closing date - Print Competition Round 4
APRIL
Wed 4 Apr Pete Whieldon DPAGB ARPS - A Natural History Evening with Pete Whieldon
Mon 9 Apr Digital Group
Wed 11 Apr Paul Sanders - What Makes a News Photo
Wed 18 Apr Print Competition Round 4 - Judge: Adrian Herring DPAGB ARPS
An evening which reveals the overall winner
Mon 23 Apr Print Group
Wed 25 Apr Southampton International Salon with - Sue Sibley ARPS AFIAP DPAGB
A Chance to see a Selection from this Print Exhibition
MAY
Wed 2 May Nick Jenkins ARPS AWPF - The Lie of the Land
Closing date - Annual Projected Image Competition
Wed 9 May Philip Joyce ARPS DPAGB - Short Stories
Mon 14 May Digital Group
Wed 16 May Penny Piddock EFIAP DPAGB and Spike Piddock AFIAP DPAGB - Muck to Magic
Closing date - Annual Print Competition
Wed 23 May Annual Projected Image Competition - Judge: TBA
Thu 24 May Council Meeting
Wed 30 May Sue Sibley ARPS AFIAP DPAGB - Her Own Stuff
JUNE
Wed 6 Jun Annual Print Competition - Judge: John Tilsley APAGB DPAGB ARPS
Closing date - President's Cup & Garmston Bowl
Mon 11 Jun Digital Group
Wed 13 Jun Kathryn Scorah MPAGB FBPE - Changing Perspectives
Wed 20 Jun John P Davey FRPS - The Theatre of Elegance
Wed 27 Jun President’s Cup and Garmston Bowl Competitions - Judge: Colin Harrison FRPS MPAGB EFIAP/D1 FBPE
JULY
Wed 4 Jul Club Annual General Meeting & Studio Group Annual Competition
Mon 9 Jul Digital Group
Wed 11 Jul Andrea Hargreaves EFIAP DPAGB BPE3 PSA4 - The Art of Metamorphosis
Mon 16 Jul Print Group
Wed 18 Jul Tony Pioli FRPS FBPE - Nature on our Doorstep
Wed 25 Jul Dr Ingrid Pollard HonFRPS - The Importance of Si/te/ght
Thu 26 Jul Council Meeting
AUGUST
Wed 1 Aug Members Evening: Short presentations from BPS members 
Wed 8 Aug Bill Power FIPF ARPS EFIAP/b - Fungi with lots of Fun Gals
Mon 13 Aug Digital Group
Wed 15 Aug WCPF Travelling Exhibition
Wed 22 Aug Pauline Pentony BA ARPS AFIAP DPAGB - Once a Dancer Always a Dancer
Wed 29 Aug Outing – Details nearer the date